Day: May 31, 2017

Typewriters Are NOT Dead!

I was involved in a conversation in which a person referred to typewriter users as “Hipsters” and in his infinite wisdom, determined typewriters to be  dead and obsolete objects, and that we “Hipsters should just get over it.” 

I replied…

“I’ve been using typewriters since I was about 10 years old. At that time they were commonplace in the home and every office. In fact, offices around the world STILL use word processing typewriters everyday, whether or not you are aware of it, so this is hardly some sort of fad for me.

Also,  they are still being manufactured. Therefore, you are using the term,  “Hipster” incorrectly for the majority of the people you’re talking about. The definition of “Hipster” is as follows, so me and a whole bunch of others who use them do not fall under your imposed label. Education is a wonderful thing. You should try it.”

hip·ster
ˈhipstər
noun – informal
“a person who follows the latest trends and fashions, especially those regarded as being outside the cultural mainstream.”

Please feel free to use this at will 😊

Long live the typewriter!