When Is A Bad Day, A Good Day?

You’ve heard that expression, “Some days you’re the windshield, some days you’re the bug”, right? Well today I feel like the bug. Let me explain… the idiom implies that you are either the bug that becomes the mess, or your the object that ends up with the mess splattered all over it. Either way… you’re a mess.

My reason for being the bug? Well… I was asked to go somewhere to help someone I love in a situation they couldn’t get anyone else to help them with. It was a seemingly simple thing, really… I had to drive out to give one of my grown sons a ride to a work related seminar/training. Next thing I know, we’re all in the car, Rob and I are on each others last nerve, and we aren’t even halfway there yet. Not a good start, but okay, fine. That’s just marriage sometimes.

After getting to the house, we found we had a lot more time than we originally thought, so we visited with all the grown kids. They share a house and some had the day off, while some just weren’t scheduled till later. Pretty cool. After we dropped off the kid at the place with the thing, Rob and I ended up exploring an old military town, and got to see some cool navy stuff. We even got kicked off a college campus for taking pictures of the buildings, I kid you not! Kinda funny, right? So we have a few laughs, and take a few pictures. We even have some awesome sourdough bread, creamy brie-like cheese the actual name of which I can’t recall, (but was much less expensive) and the most delectable strawberry pastry ever. Good day.

Except… on the way home, we argue, then make up, then argue some more. Why? I dunno. Stupid crap, for sure. We’ve been married 28 years and have spend almost 24/7 with each other for the past 7.5 months that I’ve been recovering from a work injury. We could probably use a little “me” time apart a few hours a week, but finances at the moment don’t exactly support that theory, but we can handle it. The point is, I felt like a mess.

We get home, and next thing I know, people are telling us how our dog just barked aaaall day, and never stopped. Well that was one person’s description, anyway… Another said it was more like 20 – 30 minutes on, a few minutes off, and so on. Either way, the dog is hoarse and coughs when she barks, so I guess they must be telling the truth, or why else would she be? It’s just odd, because she doesn’t usually bark much, except when she comes in contact with people who have been known to be somewhat aggressive with her, aka the people who told us she was barking. I dunno… I’m just fed up with the drama that goes on in this armpit of a town in which we live, and I wish to no end that I could afford to move out and away forever.

What was good: I got to visit with my oldest three boys, and one of the girlfriends, who I am very fond of. I got to talk to my other son, who lives a bit farther away, and is at college when he called one of his older brothers. First time in about three weeks I’ve actually heard his voice, because he’s been so darn busy with college, work, the army, his girlfriend, and life in general, and my youngest son got to hang out with his brothers for a good while. Rob and I did have some fun, and saw some neat things. We saw my mother, I got out of the house for a change, and a friend brought us a bag of persimmons after we got home.

So I guess the moral of the story is not actually windshield vs. bug, but rather – you can choose to see a good day as a bad day because some negative things happened, or you can chose to focus on the good, and let the bad go.

The choice was totally mine to decide how I want to look at what kind of day I had. When I first sat down to write this, I felt fairly defeated and thought I’d had a bad day. After examining it and writing it all out, I rather think I had a pretty good day. I got to spend time with the people I love and even though one son couldn’t be there, he was there in my heart and for a little while… in my ear thanks to technology.

The great part? Day after tomorrow is Thanksgiving, and we will all be together. All the people I love in one place. We will talk. We will laugh. We will eat too much food, and we will hug. We will say, “I love you.” Most of all… we will never forget the time we have together. I’m so thankful for the gifts God has given me, and no matter how bad any day may seem, there is always something to be thankful for – always.

1st Thessalonians 5: 18 says,

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Praise the Lord, and Amen.

Leave a Reply

